Kearny Public Library

Print this page

Databases & Online Resources

New: FREEGAL MUSIC

Kearny Public Library is pleased to announce that it has joined Library Ideas™’ network of Public Libraries in offering access to over 3 million songs from 10,000 music labels, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, that represent more than 65 different countries.

Under the terms of the agreement, registered card holders can download three Freegal Music tracks in the MP3 format each week at no direct cost, via the library’s website [www.kearnylibrary.org].  

The Freegal Music Service recently announced the availability of free mobile apps for registered cardholders of subscribing libraries.  The Freegal Music apps are available in the Apple® App Store and Google Play®.

 

Rocket Languages

rocket

Check out our new free language learning software! Interactive lessons are offered in Spanish, Arabic, French, German, Chinese, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Sign Language and English as a Second Language. Each course consists of lessons in vocabulary building and pronunciation with full audio tracks. Then build your skills with tests which are included every step of the way.

Click on the bar above and log in with your library card to get started!

 

New for Children!

tumblebooks

Tumblereads

 

Ancestry.com
(in-library use only)

Research census (1790-1930), birth, marriage, death records, plus news stories, photos historical maps, and more. Also includes U.K. census records from 1841 to 1901.

 

EBSCOHost
(also found within JerseyClicks, listed below)

EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases. Ebscohost offers newspaper and magazine articles, business, health, and academic resources, Searchaurus for Children, and Novelist Plus , a readers' advisory.


Facts On File

Facts On File is a collection of databases highlighting science, geography, history, and multicultural sources. It includes Ferguson's Career Guidance Center, which provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 55,000 resource entries, and much more! It also includes Bloom's Literary Reference, an atlas, and Health Reference. It provides text, images, diagrams and more.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a repository of reference electronic books (e-books) that can be accessed online. It covers many subjects, e.g.

Business
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 5, 1998 to 2004 Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., 2v, 2002

Environment
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia 2nd ed., 17v, 2004; U*X*L Encyclopedia of Biomes 3v, 2000; U*X*L Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geologic Features 3v, 2004

Literature
Drama for Students 1998 to 2007; Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice; Novels for Students  1997 to 2007; Poetry for Students 1998 to 2007; Short Stories for Students 1997 to 2007

 

Informe
(also found within JerseyClicks, below)

Informe has full-text magazine articles in Spanish. Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otros.

 

JerseyClicks

JerseyClicks is a database offering full-text searching of thousands of magazines, newspapers, reference books, and biographies. Included is ReferenceUSA™ the No. 1 source of information on businesses and people for researchers, students and job seekers. It also includes Novelist Plus, a readers' advisory resource which contains fiction and narrative nonfiction titles for all ages from your youngest readers to adults. Additionally NoveList Plus includes Book Discussion Guides, thematic book lists, and reading and book oriented articles.

 

Job & Career Accelerator

Start your job search with Job & Career Accelerator from LearningExpress. You can create professional resumes and cover letters, search available jobs, explore occupations, master interviewing skills and organize and track you job search progress. You can access Job & Career Accelerator through Learning Express or through JerseyClicks.

 

LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library provides job-related and academic practice exams online. You can study for the SAT, ACT, GED, ASVAB, firefighter, police officer, citizenship, real estate, Postal Service, law enforcement, and civil service exams and others. LearningExpressLibrary provides for instant scoring, individual analysis and recommendations.

 

World Book Encyclopedia

The World Book Online Reference Center contains every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more, you will find the World Book Online Reference Center to be a valuable resource. The World Book Online has the following products: World Book Advanced; Estudiantil Hallazgos en Linea; World Book Kids and World Book Student.

 

Use of the databases from home requires a Kearny Library card barcode

▲ Back to Top ▲


Kearny Public Library
318 Kearny Ave
Kearny, NJ 07032
201-998-2666
Kearny Branch Library
759 Kearny Ave
Kearny, NJ 07032
201-955-7988

E-mail the Library

©2006-2007 Kearny Public Library
Painting of Kearny Public Library ©John Waivada
Best viewed in the latest version of Opera, Internet Explorer, or Firefox
Best viewed at a resolution of 1024x768 or higher

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Wireless Hotspot Valid CSS2